The Smile announce debut album, A Light for Attracting Attention

The Smile have confirmed the details of their first full-length album.

Formed last year, The Smile is a new group with Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood and Tom Skinner from Sons of Kemet. After releasing a string of singles, the trio have announced their debut album, entitled A Light for Attracting Attention. It’s slated for release on 13 May via XL Recordings.

The 13-track album features the London Contemporary Orchestra and contemporary UK jazz musicians, such as Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, and Chelsea Charmichael. Check out the tracklist below.

Along with the album announcement, the band have shared the new single Free in the Knowledge. Watch the video below. The group’s releases so far include the singles Skirting on the Surface, The Smoke, You Will Never Work in Television Again and Pana-vision – which was featured in the finale of Peaky Blinders.

The Smile are set to head out on tour across the UK and Europe this year. It kicks off on 16 May in Croatia.

Revisit our landmark interview with Thom Yorke.

The Same
The Opposite
You Will Never Work in Television Again
The Smoke
Speech Bubbles
Thin Thing
Open the Floodgates
Free in the Knowledge
A Hairdryer
Waving a White Flag
We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings
Skirting on the Surface

Back to top