Bicep share new single, ‘Sundial’, from forthcoming album: Listen

London-based Northern Irish duo Bicep have shared their new single, ‘Sundial’.

Having scooped Best Track at DJ Mag’s Best of British Awards last year, the track is the final single to be taken from Andy Ferguson and Matt McBriar’s forthcoming ‘Isles‘ album, out 22nd January via Ninja Tune.

Coming off the back of the recent release of ‘Saku‘, ‘Sundial’ contains a sample from ‘Jab Andhera Hota Hai’, taken from the 1973 Bollywood film Raja Rani.

The pair said, “Indian music has always fascinated us since the blog days, discovering it was the possible birthplace of Acid house via Charanjit Singh’s Ten Ragas to a disco beat. Living in East London, Indian influence and music is everywhere and over the past few years we’ve both become huge fans of Bollywood film scores, particularly the female soprano performances. The haunting melancholic epicness really strikes a chord with both of us. We feel we can relate to how similar it is to the Irish folk we grew up around from the likes of the Clannad.”

“This is probably one of the simplest tracks on the album, it grew from a faulty Jupiter 6 arp recording,” they added. “Our trigger isn’t working properly and the arp skips notes randomly. This was a small segment taken from a recording of Andy just playing the arp live whilst we were just trying to figure out what was going wrong. We actually loved what it had produced and wrote some chords around it, guided by the feeling of this recording.”

Stream the single, and check out its artwork and tracklist below

1. Atlas
2. Cazenove
3. Apricots
4. Saku (feat. Clara La San)
5. Lido
6. X (feat. Clara La San)
7. Rever (feat. Julia Kent)
8. Sundial
9. Fir
10. Hawk (feat. machìna)

Back to top