Grand Theft Auto details radio stations for remastered trilogy edition

Rockstar Games have detailed changes to the radio stations for ‘Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition’.

Released today (11th November) via PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC, the compilation of the acclaimed video game series – ‘Grand Theft Auto III’ (2001), ‘Grand Theft Auto: Vice City’ (2002), and ‘Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas’ (2004) – comes with notable improvements, namely enhanced visuals, improved sound, and modernised controls and gameplay mechanics.

A big selling point of the original series, its iconic soundtracks – presented as radio stations in each game – have also been changed up due to expired music licensing. While all 200 songs featured on ‘Grand Theft Auto III’ return, songs from artists including Michael Jackson, Kate Bush, Afrika Bambaataa + The Soulsonic Force, James Brown and Roy Ayers no longer feature in ‘Vice City’ and ‘San Andreas’. See below for all the tracks that have been removed.

On the upside, Rockstar have said that the source music for the Definitive Edition, as well as the ambient effects, will playback at 44.1 kHz, with 5.1 surround available.

Last month, Snoop Dogg said that Dr. Dre is working on songs for the next installment of the ‘GTA’ series.

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Ozzy Osbourne – ‘Bark At The Moon’
Kate Bush – ‘Wow’
Michael Jackson – ‘Billie Jean’
Lionel Richie – ‘Running With The Night’
Herbie Hancock – ‘Rockit’
Afrika Bambaataa + The Soulsonic Force – ‘Looking For the Perfect Beat’
Michael Jackson – ‘Wanna Be Starting Something’
Sigue Sigue Sputnik – ‘Love Missile F1-11’
Gary Numan – ‘Cars’
ABC – ‘Poison Arrow’
Aneka – ‘Japanese Boy’
The Buggles – ‘Video Killed The Radio Star’
Joe Jackson – ‘Steppin’ Out’
The Fixx – ‘One Thing Leads To Another
Quiet Riot – ‘Cum On Feel The Noize’

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

Tom Petty – ‘Runnin’ Down A Dream’
Joe Cocker – ‘Woman to Woman’
Fatback Band – Yum Yum (Gimme Some)’
The Gap Band – ‘You Dropped A Bomb On Me’
George Clinton – ‘Loopzilla’
Roy Ayers – ‘Running Away’
2 Pac – ‘I Don’t Give a Fuck’
NWA – ‘Express Yourself’
Ozzy Osbourne – ‘Hellraiser’
Rage Against The Machine – ‘Killing In The Name’
Black Harmony – ‘Don’t let It Go To Your Head’
Blood Sisters – ‘Ring My Bell’
Augustus Pablo – ‘King Tubby Meets Rockers Uptown’
Charles Wright – ‘Express Yourself’
The Blackbyrds – ‘Rock Creek Park’
Bobby Byrd – ‘Hot Pants’
Bobby Byrd – ‘I Know You Got Soul’
James Brown – ‘Funky President’
James Brown – ’The Payback’
Lyn Collins – ‘Rock Me Again And Again’
The J.B.’s – ‘Grunt’ 

Back to top