Mitski, David Byrne and André 3000 feature on soundtrack for new A24 film

The upcoming sci-fi film Everything Everywhere All at Once is scored by Son Lux.

Recent Crack Magazine cover story Mitski duets with David Byrne on a song entitled This Is A Life. The soundtrack also includes contributions from André 3000, who plays flute on the record, alongside Randy Newman and Moses Sumney.

Everything Everywhere All at Once is directed by Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, collectively known as Daniels. The cast includes Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, Jamie Lee Curtis and Stephanie Hsu, the latter of whom also contributed to the original 49-track score.

Speaking on the soundtrack, experimental trio Son Lux said: “Even though we knew from the moment Daniels asked us to score this film that it would push us in new and unexpected directions, we couldn’t have predicted how much we’d learn from the project.”

“What emerged was our most ambitious undertaking to date, over two years in the making, resulting in two hours of new music,” they added. “It was an opportunity for us to play, to infuse humour into our work, and to experiment from and beyond our various musical backgrounds.”

Everything Everywhere All at Once premieres at SXSW on 11 March. The soundtrack is slated for release on 8 April. Watch the trailer below and revisit the Mitski cover story.

The film premieres at SXSW Film Festival on 11 March and the soundtrack will be released on 8 April.

Back to top