Radiohead side project The Smile share first single

The new song, entitled You Will Never Work in Television Again, is the work of Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood and Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner.

Last summer, Radiohead bandmates Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood linked up with jazz drummer Tom Skinner to form a new band called The Smile. The trio debuted the project during Glastonbury Festival’s Live At Worthy Farm event in May 2021, and now they are sharing their first ever single as an outfit.

You Will Never Work in Television Again was released today (5 January) via XL Recordings. Produced by Radiohead’s longtime producer Nigel Godrich – who also plays with Yorke in Atoms for Peace – the new track arrived alongside a lyric video directed by Duncan Loudon. Check it out below.

The Smile have also announced three consecutive shows set to take place within a 24-hour period at Magazine London on 29 and 30 January. The band will perform to a seated audience in the round, with all three shows available to watch from home via live stream. According to a press release, the launch concerts will bring together “a live show, a livestream and a cinematic film” captured by Grammy-nominated director Paul Dugdale.

Physical and live stream tickets go on-sale at 9am (GMT) on Friday (7 January). Fans can also sign up for pre-sale tickets via The Smile’s mailing list.

Read our Thom Yorke cover story.

Back to top